INTRO: welcome to a look into a young reporter’s life.

May 10, 2008 at 4:14 am 4 comments

This is my introduction entry.

Hi πŸ™‚

My name is Linda Hoang and I am an 18 year old Journalism student from Edmonton, Alberta in Canada. I recently finished my first year of J-school with a (I’m very proud to say) 3.81 GPA. I wasn’t planning on working at any newspaper this summer because after an exhausting second semester, I, like many others in the journalism program, simply wanted to take a break and relax.

Before I go on any further, I’ll stop and say that, while I am in a print-based journalism program right now, once I finish this program,

I will be going into a television broadcasting journalism stream…

.. which is ultimately where I would like to end up. The reason I chose to go into the print-based journalism program first was because I felt having background on the writing aspect of journalism would work more to my advantage, then simply going straight into a 2-year broadcasting diploma.

Now, back to the whole relaxing this summer plan…

I am a huge fan of the reality show So You Think You Can Dance. The fourth season premieres May 22nd, and I had originally planned to make weekly SYTYCD recap videos and post them on Youtube this summer as a way to build up my own video editing skills, as well as my amatuer broadcasting/hosting skills.

Then I got word of a summer student internship position…

.. at a small weekly newspaper in a town that orders my city. I decided to apply, and I ended up getting the job!

Now am still going to attempt to do my weekly SYTYCD recap videos and post them on Youtube, but it may prove a lot more difficult and time consuming now that I have this newspaper job, helping out at my parent’s family restaurant on the weekends, keeping a fansite updated, as well as keeping this blog updated.

But basically, that is the current background, you would need (or want) to know about me… for now.

I decided to start writing a blog because, just like when you go on vacation and a few months later you think back and you don’t remember at all what you did on your vacation, I didn’t want to look back on this experience and not remember what had happened. So instead of a vacation journal, this blog will be a work journal of sorts. The blog is also to help hone my writing skills.

I do not know how many people will actually read this…

.. I will be passing on links to some friends and family, but I suppose in the end, by the end of the summer, I will use this blog to look back – read back – and remember the good times and the bad times of my experiences working at a small weekly newspaper in the summer of 2008.

My next post will be a recap of my first week at the newspaper.

Welcome to A look into a young reporter’s life.

Linda.

Entry filed under: Saint City News. Tags: , , , .

RECAP: my first week at a small newspaper

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. piman  |  May 10, 2008 at 7:38 am

    fascinating story, hansel πŸ˜›

    Reply
  • 2. caleng  |  May 10, 2008 at 7:30 pm

    you’ll be an amazing reporter/broadcaster one day πŸ˜€ I’ll watch you every night, and I expect to be hired as one of your assistants πŸ˜‰ HAHA ❀ you Linddaa!

    Reply
  • 3. pauline_seester.  |  May 10, 2008 at 11:40 pm

    Congrats on getting the newspaper job sister! I know you’ll do great on it. And woot woot for doing the blog thing. This’ll definitely keep me updated on what you’ve been doing=). ily.

    Reply
  • 4. ayoungreporter  |  May 11, 2008 at 5:29 am

    Caleng, you are hired πŸ™‚

    Haha ❀ Thanks for commenting, love.

    Piman, something for you to read at work πŸ˜›

    PAULINE SEESTER, i miss you ily too. thanks for commenting love ❀ πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2008
M T W T F S S
    Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Recent Posts

My Twitter Feed


